Costa Rica and Earth University-Day 2

9 01 2010

01/08/2010

Liberia, Costa Rica

I awoke on day two of our trip to Costa Rica, at 6:30 A.M. to the sound of the nearby trolley blaring it’s horn as it delivered people to their jobs or adventures for the day.  At first I was annoyed, but began to chuckle as I realized it was probably the city’s alarm clock.

I climbed out of be and showered as my classmates slept in and roamed around the Costa Rica Backpackers hostel taking pictures of the beautiful flora located on the site.

Once the rest of my classmates woke up (minus Professor Motley who managed to sleep in despite the train) and showered, we headed off to find some breakfast and an ATM to get some colones (some more than they wanted due to the conversion rate…lol).  We walked a couple of blocks downtown and found a local grocer where I purchased mochachino and a large croissant, which was absolutely delicious.  I swear pastries are so much better in countries other than the United States.   We need to work on that…honestly.

After breakfast our bus and it’s driver Benicio arrived to pick us up to continue our journey in Costa Rica.  Today we were off to Liberia to spend the week with Earth University at their LaFlor campus.  It’s a five hour drive across the country traversing multiple fog covered mountain peaks and views of the ocean and volcanoes.

Three hours into the drive we made a pit stop to use the facilities, play with a couple of Boxer puppies, and take a group photo.

Shortly after our pit stop, Benicio suddenly stopped the bus on the side of the road.  Little did we know, our bus driver had a keen eye, and spotted Howler monkeys in a tree right next to the road.

Howler monkeys in a roadside tree

Shortly there after we stopped by a little place on the side of the road to stretch our legs and take a look at some Scarlet Macaws that were known to hang out at this little restaurant.  I’m not sure they were too please with the group of people gawking at them as they would not stop squawking at us.  Although, knowing Macaws as I do, they might have just been putting on a show as they spied down on us from above.

An hour after being laughed at by the Macaws we arrived at our destination, Earth University’s LaFlor campus.  The facility is a beautiful plot of land that was donated to Earth by Costa Rica’s former president prior to his death.  This place is absolutely incredible.  I’ve been getting chills all day as I continue to discover it’s endless beauty and wildlife.

We were greeted by Luis and Carlos and treated to an amazing lunch consisting of salad, rice, beans, and chicken cordon bleu made from ingredients grown right here at LaFlor.  That might have been the best salad I’ve ever had considering the vegetables from picked right from the garden.

After lunch Carlos explained a little bit about Earth University and what they do before he had to leave for Nicaragua for a few days.  Upon his departure, Lius stepped in and continued by explaining what they do here at LaFlor.  Earth University is a school that offers scholarships to students from Central and South America, about 100 per year, and teaches them sustainable agriculture and conservation in hopes that they take what they learn and become stewards in their own countries by educating their neighbors how to keep their beautiful ecosystems intact and thriving.

LaFlor, however has a different mission.  They host organizations and schools and educate them about biodiversity and ecosystems and how to sustainably live on their own land and save it for generations to come.  Their mission is to not only make people understand how they are connected and reliant on Earth and it’s ecology, but also how to live what Costa Rican’s call “pura vida“.  After only a few hours here, I can assure you it is something we all will want and should do.  The world would be a much better place because of it.

Well, I’m off to bed.  Stay tuned to the next installment coming soon.  Buenas noches!





Costa Rica and Earth University, LaFlor: Day 1

9 01 2010

Jan. 7, 2010

I am in San Jose, Costa Rica!!!  As part of Elon University’s Interactive Media program, myself and 10 of my classmates are spending 10 days of our winter-term class in Costa Rica working on a project for Earth University.  Earth University teaches students as well as farmers about sustainable agriculture and ecological conservation.

My classmates and I departed from Elon University at 4 a.m. this morning and headed to Raleigh-Durham International Airport to begin our journey south.  Within a couple of hours we were descending into the cloud covered mountains of San Jose during our approach.

Tilt your head to the left

We arrived at 2:30 p.m. in San Jose and were greeted with warmth not only from the sun but also from the Latin population.  As my first extended trip to a foreign country, I was amazed and delighted, upon our arrival at San Jose International Airport to see the place buzzing with activity.  Hundreds of Costa Ricans outside the airport awaiting the arrival of their loved ones, cheering and singing.  It was a sight I have never seen at any airport in the United States.  I couldn’t help but smile.

We were shown to the coolest mini bus I have ever seen.  A white and baby blue two-tone Toyota Cruiser with a retro look and hinted back to the time of the micro-bus.  We were taken to downtown San Jose and dropped off at the Costa Rica Backpackers youth hostel on 6th St.  This is my first time experiencing a hostel and I have to say it is an incredible place.  The staff and other guest are as interesting and friendly as you could possible imagine.  The vibes I am getting from this place is exhilarating.

Upon checking in to the hostel we departed for a wonderful dinner at Nuesta Tierra two blocks down the road where I was treated to authentic Costa Rican cuisine.  I had beef strips with bacon, onion, sweet peppers, and fried plantains on tortillas.  This was my first time tasting plantains, but now I assure you it won’t be my last.  They are fantastic.

After dinner we returned to the hostel to enjoy happy hour at the hostel with my classmates and other guests.  The people here are so open and friendly.  I feel as safe as I would on Elon’s campus.

I write this as all my other classmates have headed to bed after a long day of travel and lack of sleep and can’t wait for the nine days ahead.

Tomorrow morning we head to Liberia, Costa Rica where Earth University’s LaFlor Campus is located.  There we are going to videotape and photograph the campus as well as interview it’s students and professors about what it is they do at the LaFlor campus.  We will gather information about their efforts in sustainable agriculture and ecological conservation education so we can develop a new LaFlor website to promote their cause.

Considering this first day has already brought great job I can only imagine what we will experience in the coming days.  This is already turning out to be the greatest adventure of my life, and for a cause that is near and dear to my heart.

Be sure to keep up with my upcoming blog updates from Costa Rica.  Talk to you soon.